• Français

Sexual Abuse

Medical procedures

Most of the time, acts of sexual abuse perpetrated on a child do not cause injury to the genital and anal areas. The absence of any injury, however, does not suggest that the child was not the victim of sexual abuse.

A child who has been the victim of sexual abuse or who is suspected to have suffered sexual abuse should be examined by a doctor.

A medical examination serves to:

  1. establish the child’s physical and mental state of health;
  2. screen for any sexually transmitted infections, if necessary;
  3. reassure the child of their physical integrity;
  4. look for signs of sexual abuse or other forms of abuse;
  5. gather evidence by using the sexual assault evidence kit, if any, and by administering the tests ordered by the doctor.

If the assault or the last episode of sexual abuse took place within the previous five days, a medical visit to a designated centre must be done quickly because evidence-gathering tests cannot be done after this period.

If the assault or last episode of sexual abuse occurred more than six days earlier, and the child has lesions, exhibits significant physical symptoms, is experiencing psychological distress or needs protection, it is still necessary to take them to the emergency to consult a doctor.

Most of the tests are done by appointment and in specialized clinics as to avoid repeating them needlessly. These designated centres receive victims whose condition requires a medical examination or tests for evidence-gathering purposes (children, teenagers, women, and men). There are designated centres in many areas across Quebec. They can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and are found in hospital emergency units or other locations.

The sexual assault evidence kit serves to administer tests on the child’s body. Any clothing items that may contain any traces or secretions of the perpetrator are also collected. It is the doctor who decides whether or not to proceed with the administration of any evidence-gathering tests based on the following factors:

  • The amount of time passed since the last episode of sexual abuse,
  • The victim’s consent and their decision to file a police report,
  • The pertinence for administering the tests in relation to the victim’s testimony.

It is important to prepare the child for this examination by giving them age-appropriate information, such as letting them know a doctor will be giving them a checkup and reassuring them that this type of checkup does not hurt and will not be forced upon them. The doctor may also stop the checkup at the request of the child if they become anxious or uncooperative.

Examination of the genital and anal areas

For both girls and boys, the procedure consists in conducting an external examination of the genital organs (unless there is suspicion of a medical or surgical problem, which is very rare). For girls, the examination is done without touching the vaginal area and without using a speculum. The perianal area must also be examined in all victims of sexual abuse, boy or girl.

Some designated centres and specialized clinics use a colposcope for examining the genital area. The colposcope is a camera equipped with a very bright light and high magnification capabilities that enables the doctor to look for any existing lesions without having to touch the genital organ.

About this page
Updated on 10/6/2014
Created on 10/6/2014
Alert or send a suggestion
 

Every dollar counts!

Thank you for your generosity.

It is thanks to donors such as you that we are able to accelerate research discoveries, to heal more children every year and to continue to offer world-class care.

It is also possible to give by mail or by calling toll-free

1-888-235-DONS (3667)

Contact Us

514 345-4931

Legal

© 2006-2014 CHU Sainte-Justine.
All rights reserved. 
Terms of Use,  Confidentiality,  Security

Warning

All information contained within the CHU Sainte-Justine site should not be used as a substitute for the advice of a duly qualified and authorized medical practitioner or any other health professional. The information provided on this site is intended for educational and informational purposes only.

Consult your physician if you feel ill or call 911 for any medical emergency.

CHU Sainte-Justine

• English

Abus sexuel: Les démarches médicales

La plupart du temps, les agressions sexuelles perpétrées sur les enfants n'engendrent pas de blessure au niveau de la zone génitoanale. L'absence de blessure n'exclut cependant en rien la possibilité que l'enfant ait été victime d'une agression sexuelle.

L'enfant victime d'agression sexuelle ou pour lequel on a des raisons de croire qu'il l'a été devrait être examiné par un médecin.

L'examen médical permet de :

  1. s'assurer de l'état de santé physique et psychologique de l'enfant ;
  2. procéder au dépistage, au besoin, d'infections transmissibles sexuellement ;
  3. rassurer l'enfant sur son intégrité physique ;
  4. déceler des éléments liés à l'agression ou à d'autres formes de maltraitance ;
  5. procéder à l'examen en recourant, s'il y a lieu, à la trousse médico-légale et en procédant aux tests de laboratoire jugés nécessaires par le médecin.

Si l'agression ou le dernier épisode d'agression remonte à cinq jours ou moins, la visite médicale dans un centre désigné doit se faire rapidement, car les prélèvements médico-légaux ne peuvent être faits après cette période.

Si l'agression remonte à plus de six jours et que l'enfant présente des lésions, des symptômes physiques importants, une détresse psychologique ou qu'il a besoin de protection, il est encore pertinent de se rendre à l'urgence pour consulter un médecin.

La majorité des examens devraient être faits sur rendez-vous et dans des cliniques spécialisées afin d'éviter de répéter inutilement des examens. Les centres désignés reçoivent toutes les victimes dont l'état nécessite un examen médical ou médico-légal (enfants, adolescents, femmes ou hommes). Il existe des centres désignés dans plusieurs régions du Québec. Ils sont accessibles 24 heures par jour et 7 jours par semaine et se trouvent dans les salles d'urgence ou dans d'autres locaux.

La trousse médico-légale permet d'effectuer des prélèvements sur le corps de l'enfant. On recueille aussi les vêtements qui auraient été en contact avec les sécrétions de l'agresseur ou qui porteraient ses traces. C'est le médecin qui décide de procéder ou non aux prélèvements médico-légaux en fonction de certains facteurs, notamment :

  • le temps écoulé depuis le dernier épisode d'agression sexuelle
  • le consentement de la victime et sa décision de porter plainte à la police
  • la pertinence d'effectuer des prélèvements selon le récit de la victime

Il est important de préparer l'enfant à cet examen en lui donnant quelques renseignements adaptés à son âge. Il s'agit surtout de l'informer qu'un médecin va l'examiner. Le parent peut rassurer l'enfant sur le fait que ce type d'examen n'est pas douloureux et n'est pas forcé. L'examen sera aussi interrompu à la demande de l'enfant s'il devient trop anxieux ou s'il ne coopère pas.

L'examen des parties génitales et anales

Pour la fille et le garçon, il s'agit d'abord et avant tout d'un examen externe des organes génitaux (à moins de soupçonner un problème médical ou chirurgical, ce qui est très rare). Chez la fille, l'examen se fait sans toucher vaginal ni utilisation du spéculum. La région périanale doit aussi être examinée chez toute victime d'agression sexuelle, qu'il s'agisse d'une fille ou d'un garçon.

Certains centres désignés et cliniques spécialisées ont recours à un colposcope pour l'examen des parties génitales. Le colposcope est une caméra munie d'une lumière d'une grande intensité et d'un pouvoir d'agrandissement qui permet de voir d'éventuelles lésions sans toucher aux organes génitaux.

Saviez-vous que nous sommes...
Parmi les meilleurs hôpitaux spécialisés dans le monde selon le classement Newsweek.
Newsweek
1er établissement québécois de santé des meilleurs employeurs canadiens au palmarès Forbes.
Forbes
À propos de cette page
Mise à jour le 3 mars 2015
Créée le 29 mai 2014
Signaler ou faire une remarque
 

Chaque dollar compte !

Merci de votre générosité.

Ce sont les donateurs comme vous qui nous permettent d’accélérer la recherche, de guérir, à chaque année, plus d’enfants et continuer d’offrir un des meilleurs niveaux de santé au monde.

Il est également possible de donner par la poste ou de donner par téléphone au numéro sans frais

1-888-235-DONS (3667)

Nous contacter

514 345-4931

Légal

© 2006-2014 CHU Sainte-Justine.
Tous droits réservés. 
Avis légaux  Confidentialité  Sécurité  Crédits

Avertissement

Les informations contenues dans le site « CHU Sainte-Justine » ne doivent pas être utilisées comme un substitut aux conseils d’un médecin dûment qualifié et autorisé ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé. Les informations fournies ici le sont à des fins exclusivement éducatives et informatives.

Consultez votre médecin si vous croyez être malade ou composez le 911 pour toute urgence médicale.

CHU Sainte-Justine